Search:  Tell a friend Tell a Friend |  Print this page Print |  Site Map Site Map
    Facebook LinkedIn Twitter       
ACC Board Board Committees ACC Staff ACC Strategic Plan ACC History ACC Past Presidents ACC Bylaws
Photos Committee
Beacon Awards® Beacon Award Finalist Summaries (members-only) Beacon Award Committee Cable Communications Achievement Awards ACC AwardsACC Community Bridges Awards
Professional Development Career ConnectionsFAQs About Social MediaKnowledge Center ACC Insights (Blog) ACC Communications Institute Best Practices (members-only) ACC Videos Links
Headlines in Cable & Communications ACC CalendarEvents CPR Facts Press Releases ACCbriefs Annual Conference: FORUM
March 30, 2005
Contact:  Steve Jones
(202) 775-1083

CTPAA Announces Winners of
Public Affairs Achievement Award

Bonnie Hathaway, Time Warner Cable, Ivan Johnson, Cox Communications, and Rosa Gatti, ESPN, to be recognized during FORUM 2005

Washington, D.C. - Washington, D.C. - The Cable Television Public Affairs Association (CTPAA) today announced the winners of the second annual CTPAA Public Affairs Achievement Award. The winners are Bonnie Hathaway, vice president, public affairs, Time Warner Cable, in Community Relations; Ivan Johnson, vice president of community relations and televideo, Cox Communications, in Government Relations; and Rosa Gatti, senior vice president, corporate communications & outreach, ESPN in Media Relations.

The Public Affairs Achievement Award recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions within cable public affairs and to CTPAA. Up to four awards are presented each year in one of the following categories: community relations, government relations, media relations, or local programming. The awards will be presented at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington, DC, on Monday, May 2 during CTPAA's FORUM 2005 conference, "Expanding Cable's Connections." FORUM is the cable industry's annual educational event dedicated to the issues facing public affairs professionals.

"Bonnie Hathaway, Ivan Johnson and Rosa Gatti are accomplished individuals in cable public affairs and dedicated CTPAA members," said CTPAA President Peter Kiley, vice president of affiliate relations for C-SPAN Networks. "The Public Affairs Achievement Award was created to acknowledge individuals who develop and execute effective public affairs initiatives throughout their careers, and these three individuals have achieved vast success."

Throughout her 20-year career in cable pubic affairs, Hathaway has helped mold community relations for Time Warner Cable and the cable industry as a whole. An advocate for a partnership between programmers and cable operators, she has created numerous award-winning initiatives such as "The Common Good" with C-SPAN, "Know TV" with the Learning Channel and "My Hometown" with The Travel Channel to demonstrate this partnership to local communities. Education has always been Hathaway's passion, and her commitment is evident in Time Warner Cable's continued emphasis on education and community. Hathaway has been visibly active in promoting education through community outreach programs such as the National Teacher Award. She serves on Cable in the Classroom's advisory board and has extended her education efforts to HIV/AIDS awareness through work with Cable Positive. HBO's signature "Project Knowledge" was implemented during her tenure as director of affiliate relations at the network. As a long time member of CTPAA, Hathaway helped shape the organization into what it is today and was instrumental in creating the Beacon Awards program. Hathaway has served as CTPAA's President for two, non-consecutive terms.

For more than 30 years, Johnson has been a cable industry leader advocating for equitable treatment of cable by government at all levels. Before joining the Cox Communications team, Johnson was the first executive director of the Arizona Cable Television Association where he helped establish the first cable licensing law in the state and one of the first cable theft statutes in the country. Johnson was also vice president of association affairs for NCTA where he established its first formal grassroots program. Today Johnson leads one of Cox's most accomplished system-level Public Affairs departments in Phoenix, Ariz., and under his leadership the system has won numerous Beacon awards including the ESPN Good Sports Award in 2004 for the Everday Heroes initiative. Johnson serves on CTPAA committees, frequently shares his expertise at FORUM as a speaker, and is active in the Phoenix community.

During her 25 years in cable and at ESPN, Gatti has been a groundbreaker, one of the industry's first proponents of communicating the value and consumer benefits of cable television through media relations at the national and local levels. At ESPN she spearheads communication initiatives for all of ESPN, and corporate outreach including the company's employee volunteerism, corporate giving, and cause marketing initiatives. Gatti has also worked with the government affairs department on cable issues such as arguments against a la carte. She has an outstanding relationship with the media and throughout her career has dedicated herself to her company, her industry, and her community. Gatti serves on the Board of Directors of CTPAA, The V Foundation for Cancer Research, and Women in Cable and Telecommunications. She has been recognized by a myriad of organizations for her outstanding achievements in communications.

CTPAA is the only national, professional organization specifically addressing the issues, needs and interests of the cable industry's public affairs professionals. Its mission is to develop and promote public affairs excellence to help achieve industry, corporate and social goals. A strong advocate of the public affairs professional's participation in all aspects of corporate decision-making processes, CTPAA works to enhance each member's status and influence through skill building and professional development. For more information on CTPAA and FORUM 2005, go to


Mailing Address: 9259 Old Keene Mill Road, Suite #202   Burke, VA 22015
Phone: 703.372.2215
Fax: 703.782.0153