Search:  Tell a friend Tell a Friend |  Print this page Print |  Site Map Site Map
    Facebook LinkedIn Twitter       
ACC Board Board Committees ACC Staff ACC Strategic Plan ACC History ACC Past Presidents ACC Bylaws
Photos Committee
Beacon Awards® Beacon Award Finalist Summaries (members-only) Beacon Award Committee Cable Communications Achievement Awards ACC AwardsACC Community Bridges Awards
Professional Development Career ConnectionsFAQs About Social MediaKnowledge Center ACC Insights (Blog) ACC Communications Institute Best Practices (members-only) ACC Videos Links
Headlines in Cable & Communications ACC CalendarEvents CPR Facts Press Releases ACCbriefs Annual Conference: FORUM
August 9, 2004
Contact: Steve Jones

FORUM 2005

May 1 to 4 -- in Washington, DC

Washington, DC -- The Cable Television Public Affairs Association (CTPAA) announced today its annual conference will be in the nations capital for the fifth consecutive year. Specifically designed for the cable public affairs professional, the conference will be held May 1 to 4, 2005, at the Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC. The Ritz-Carlton also was the host hotel for FORUM in 2002. CTPAAs FORUM is the cable industrys annual educational conference dedicated to the issues facing public affairs professionals. The association also announced FORUM 2005 and Beacon Award co-chairs.

"Once again CTPAA will host its annual FORUM in Washington, DC, providing attendees outstanding educational and career development opportunities, as well as ample time to foster relations with important policy makers," said Peter Kiley, CTPAA president and director of affiliate relations, C-SPAN Networks. "FORUM in 2005 will showcase the best practices of cable's public affairs professionals and offer strategic planning opportunities to develop and promote public affairs to help achieve business and public policy objectives."

The FORUM 2005 co-chairs, who produce and are responsible for the meeting agenda, are Scoot MacPherson, Senior Vice President, Public & Government Affairs, Court TV and Anthony Surratt, Executive Director, Public Relations, Cox Communications, Inc. CTPAA will also celebrate the 20th anniversary of its founding during FORUM 2005.

CTPAA will announce the winners of the 2005 Beacon Awards, honoring excellence in public affairs throughout the cable industry, during a gala ceremony and dinner on Tuesday, May 3, 2005 at FORUM. The 2005 Beacon co-chairs are Peggy Ballard, Vice President, Strategic Communications, Scientific-Atlanta Inc. and Brian Wirth, Vice President, Government & Public Affairs, Time Warner Cable.

# # #

CTPAA is the only national, professional organization specifically addressing the issues, needs and interests of the cable industry's public affairs professionals. Its mission is to develop and promote public affairs excellence to help achieve industry, corporate and social goals. A strong advocate of the public affairs professional's participation in all aspects of corporate decision-making processes, CTPAA works to enhance each member's status and influence through skill building and professional development. For more information on CTPAA, go to

Mailing Address: 9259 Old Keene Mill Road, Suite #202   Burke, VA 22015
Phone: 703.372.2215
Fax: 703.782.0153