Search:  Tell a friend Tell a Friend |  Print this page Print |  Site Map Site Map
    Facebook LinkedIn Twitter       
ACC Board Board Committees ACC Staff ACC Strategic Plan ACC History ACC Past Presidents ACC Bylaws
Photos Committee
Beacon Awards® Beacon Award Finalist Summaries (members-only) Beacon Award Committee Cable Communications Achievement Awards ACC AwardsACC Community Bridges Awards
Professional Development Career ConnectionsFAQs About Social MediaKnowledge Center ACC Insights (Blog) ACC Communications Institute Best Practices (members-only) ACC Videos Links
Headlines in Cable & Communications ACC CalendarEvents CPR Facts Press Releases ACCbriefs Annual Conference: FORUM

September 22, 2006
Contact:  Michelle Butler
(202) 775-1082

CTPAA Introduces New Categories for the 2007 Beacon Awards™

Washington, DC Today the Cable Television Public Affairs Association (CTPAA) announced fifteen new categories for the 2007 Beacon Awards, honoring excellence in cable public affairs. The additional categories better reflect the cable industry’s business realities and goals, are more strategic than tactical and are easier to understand. The early bird deadline for the 2007 Beacon Awards is November 3, 2006, and it allows members to save $50 off the entry fee. The Regular Deadline is November 17, 2006.

“Cable Public Affairs professionals are on the frontlines of the industry communicating cable’s story and how cable provides the best products for consumers’ communication needs,” Steve Jones, executive director of CTPAA, said. “The new Beacon Award categories will help CTPAA honor members’ strategic contributions to the growth of the industry.”

A main goal for this year's Beacon Award TM co-chairs, Cindy McConkey of Scripps Network and Jennifer Mooney of Bright House Networks, along with the 2007 Beacon Awards Committee, was to have Beacon Award categories that reflect the business goals and changes in the cable industry. Under the direction of the judging operations work group and its leaders Amy Cohn of Cox Communications, Mike Smith of Comcast and Jerilyn Bliss of Scripps Network, the committee performed a complete review and overhaul of the existing categories. The new categories borrow structure from the best practices of the 2006 Beacon Awards, CTAM's MARK Awards, Cox's Impact Awards, PRSA's Silver Anvil Awards and OCTA's Image Awards. The changes also simplify the process of deciding which category to enter, reducing the total possible number of entries from 560 categories down to 147 for 2007.

The 15 new categories are Internal Communications, Competitive Response, Bottom Line/Sales Impact, Reputation/Brand Management, Events and Observances (Seven or Fewer Days), Events and Observances (More Than Seven Days), Business to Business Communications, Crisis Communications, Issues Management, Investor Relations, Multicultural Public Relations, Integrated Communications, New Media Campaign, Public Service Announcement (Single or Series), and Support Materials. Returning categories are: Community Relations, Education, Government Relations, Media Relations, Programming (Single Program) and Programming (Series).

During the Beacon Awards Ceremony on March 13, 2007, CTPAA will honor the best work by MSOs, cable systems, programming networks, cable associations and technology providers in cable public affairs. The Beacon Award Ceremony will be a highpoint of FORUM 2007, the cable industry's annual educational event dedicated to the issues facing public affairs professionals, held March 11-14, 2007, at the Ritz-Carlton hotel in Washington, D.C.


CTPAA is the only national, professional organization specifically addressing the issues, needs and interests of the cable industry’s public affairs professionals. Its mission is to develop and promote public affairs excellence to help achieve industry, corporate and social goals. A strong advocate of the public affairs professional’s participation in all aspects of corporate decision-making processes, CTPAA works to enhance each member’s status and influence through skill building and professional development. For more information on CTPAA, FORUM or the Beacon Awards, go to

Mailing Address: 9259 Old Keene Mill Road, Suite #202   Burke, VA 22015
Phone: 703.372.2215
Fax: 703.782.0153